Eric's E61 Thermometer Usage with Expobar

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
CST

#1: Post by CST »

Hi everyone. I've been using Eric's thermometer for a couple months on my Expobar Lever machine. I've researched everything I can find and had some help from Eric by e-mail, but I was hoping to tap this group's experience when it comes to usage.

I think my machine runs hot compared to other machines at the same p-stat. I just adjusted mine down from 1 bar (214F group reading) to .9 bar (210F group reading). What I find strange is that when pulling shots, Eric's thermometer *always* reads above the temperature at the puck.
For example, I made a couple shots and let my group sit until it was at 201F. Then, I flushed to 207 and waited 10 seconds. During the shot, the thermometer spiked to 216F then stayed stable at 209F-205F until I stopped the shot. It tasted similar to a shot that is a little on the cool side (sourish). Eric states that flush-n-pull should usage will have the thermometer reading *below* the puck water temp, but if this was the case, my coffee should taste burned.

I've also tried the flush-n-wait method. My results are almost always overcooked coffee flavors and a black ring around part of the cup. I can try pulling at a lower temp like 195F (I've been working with 196F) to see if I can get it lower, but my machine sends 216F water towards the puck for the first few seconds, and I have a hard time believing that it is getting cooled down to anywhere close to 200F. Plus my temps never drop below 206F on the thermometer during these shots and I've read that the thermometer should match the temp at the puck near the end of the shot.

I wonder if the Expobar has a different internal structure that throws all of Eric's measurements out of the window. Any feedback from your experience would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks!

mike01

#2: Post by mike01 »