E61 mushroom no scale, but boiler scale?

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
F1

#1: Post by F1 »

Is it possible to have scale in the brew boiler while the E-61 mushroom is completely clean?

The reason I ask is because my Profitec 700 has started to produce only thin watery shots that are flavorless, but not bitter. I have been using the Profitec for over 12 months without issues. I bought a K30 vario 3 months ago and have been using it exclusively since. My beans of choice is Hologram from Counter Culture Coffee. I have been using this coffee for as long as I can remember. I get two 12oz bags delivered every week. About three weeks ago every shot was coming out watery and thin as hell with light colored crema. It tasted like crap. I couldn't even get any aroma from the shot. Of course I played with dosage, temperature, brew pressure, blah, blah, even though I haven't had to in months, but the end result was the same. I figured I got a bad batch from CCC. Next, I bought a few bags from a local roaster(NOVO coffee) that I frequent a lot and the same thing happened. At this point I figured the issue was not the beans, but maybe the K30 grinder. Thankfully I have two other espresso grinders(Compak K10, Super Jolly E). I tried the Super Jolly and the shots were still coming out the same. Next I pointed the finger at the machine. Things that could result in thin, watery shots are low temperatures and/or low brew pressure. I tested both with a SCACE and they were 201F stable and 9.2 bar stable. At this point I started to panic because I didn't know what else to check. Then I thought maybe the water even though I have been using the same water for years. I use Crystal Geyser from the Norman, AR source. I tested the water and just like in the past the results were 92 TDS and 125.3 ppm or 7 grains of hardness. 7 grains of hardness should result in scale, but every time I remove the mushroom which is at least once a month it is always cle