E61 grouphead thermometer and HX cooling flush recovery

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
akiley

#1: Post by akiley »

Taylor GH thermometer w Andreja (E61 HX), cooling flush idle times/temps observations

I've been using a Quckimill Andreja for 6+ years. Also Macap stepless, home roasting 6+ years Hottop & Behmor. Beans always <7 days old, usually roast to just before 2nd, or first signs of 2nd. (Full City +?)

I just bought and installed the Taylor digital thermometer from Chris Coffee a week ago. It goes into the center of any exposed E61 grouphead. It's very small (1.3"w) so it doesn't detract from the look of the machine much. It's digital but not thermocouple so there is a little lag.

What an eye opener. For years, I've just preheated, done my 20 second cooling flush, then run my shot which is OK, but if you run subsequent shots, I discovered I need to let my machine recover a minimum of 10 minutes, or until the idle temp reads 202 and preferably higher. Then another shorter cooling flush (5-15"), wait 30 seconds then pull the shot.

So I made a chart that has warmup time, or between shot recovery time and idle temp. Then it shows the cooling flush time and temp curve. Then the wait 30 seconds with a new idle temp, then the shot time temp curve. But I've found the rebound time for subsequent shots something not discussed much, but critical to my results.

Other docs I've read suggest a second shot does not need much or any recovery time, so I'm wondering if I have any issues with my machine. It makes abundant steam and the pstat and boiler pressures are reasonable. I get a very slow leak of about 0.5 fluid oz into the drip trey from the OPV. Not sure if this is the cause or not. I've replaced some warn cams in the GH, but haven't descaled every. Do backflush every week and every month with cleaner.