Custom espresso machine build

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
lennoncs

#1: Post by lennoncs »

Hello All,

As I am not a prolific poster here at HB I believe an introduction is in order

I got involved with espresso and quality preparation around 2002 with a Silvia that got a PID modification soon after I acquired it. The follow-up act to the Silvia was a Brewtus that was soon ripped apart and modified. The 2007 SCAA conference in Charlotte was a big game changer for me as I got to hang out with a group that completely blew me away with their talent and passion for coffee.

After the SCAA conference I acquired a single group Synesso that has served me well for the past few years but the time has come to mix things up a bit and give the machine a new set of clothes and a few more tricks up its sleeve.

I have been using pressure profiling since late 2007 but the system is a servo driven piston that is a bit of a challenge to keep going as it is completely custom components that, whenever I need a part, requires me to spend entirely too long in front of the lathe, mill, grinder, etc...

So,
Here is the plan:
• Use the Synesso boilers as a basis for a new machine
• Refit the controls to incorporate the latest innovations.
• I am in the process of deciding if the machine will be built up as a nude (glass panels) or stainless so it will be built up on a frame that will support either and get its skin after all the tweaking is done.

pardon the photos, I didn't feel like heating the shop up in this weather So, the counter it is...

The Victim:
Boiler set #375
it is an older boiler set with the removeable ports on each side. It makes it a bit more flexible for someone who want to experiment.

Assembled on the frame:

I am a bit biased towards fittings
and
If the machine is going to be a nude, they better be nice and I have ZERO tolerance for leaks.