Cuisinart EM-200: dark rim forms around edge of espresso after pouring?

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
sedaniel

#1: Post by sedaniel »

Hello, I am new to this board. I tried to search here and on Google to find an answer to my problem but I am having trouble explaining what is going on and I can't come up with a reason (I am new to my espresso maker, only have had it since Christmas and it is my first one). I have the Cuisinart Programmable Espresso Maker EM-200. It has been working fine with no problems since I got it. Starting a few weeks ago, when I pour an espresso there is a thin dark rim that forms around the top of the espresso. I took a picture of it (this is after I'd had a few sips):

http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/692/photoqat.jpg/

I have tried a few things: I have cleaned my portafilter and the filter baskets (just with cold water, I'm not sure if I can put these in the dishwasher?). I have wiped off the underside of the machine where the portafilter is inserted (I'm not sure what this area is called). However the rim still appears most of the time after I pour the espresso. I don't think I am doing anything differently in preparing my espresso since this problem started so I don't know what the problem could be.

Can anyone give me some advice or has anyone had this problem before? Thank you in advance and I hope I posted this in the right area! :)

Randy G.

#2: Post by Randy G. »

What coffee is it?
How old is the coffee?
What grinder (he asks, with a noticeable flinch and gritting of teeth as if someone just threw a baseball at his face with malice [the throw, not the face]...)?
EspressoMyEspresso.com - 2000-2023 - a good run, its time is done

sedaniel (original poster)

#3: Post by sedaniel (original poster) »