Confused by the steam coming from my Nuova Simonelli Oscar

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
stovetop

#1: Post by stovetop »

Hi Everyone,

ive been using my used oscar for a few months now. I bought it used and changed a bunch of parts. One issue ive been having is with the steam. I have a steam wand gauge that tells me im at around 1.2 bar. I use a 12 oz pitcher that is usually filled 1/3rd to 1/2..it gets hot to the touch within about 15 seconds. However, my steam does not come out with any power, preventing me from rolling the milk..it just heats it up. I've seen youtube videos where people flip on the steam and it comes out with such a blast, yet mine seems so weak. And mine is loud as soon as i dunk it in the milk..the screech is there from beginning to end no matter where i try putting the tip and no matter how much milk i use.

So the thing is, if im reading 1.2 bar, the power has to be there right? the issue has to be with the steam tip? but i tried plugging one of the 4 holes, still no go..it was just as bad..and i have tried with a one-hole tip my machine came with (the hole is pretty big), but it was just as bad.

One thing that has always seemed like a potential issue is my probe. i tried putting it as deep as i can but it still seems to stick up higher then it should. Can it be that i have too much water in the boiler resulting in different steam quality..steam that doesnt have the same "oomph" that i would have with the sensor being lower?

Thanks!

Beezer

#2: Post by Beezer »

It does seem like the symptoms you describe could be caused by the boiler being overly full and not leaving enough space for steam. Have you checked the boiler fill probe to make sure it isn't scaled up?
Lock and load!

stovetop (original poster)

#3: Post by stovetop (original poster) replying to Beezer »