Cimbali Junior D/1 vibe pump shot interruption

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
Pim

#1: Post by Pim »

This will be my first post on this forum, although I wouldn't say I'm new to it. I read a lot of very useful information before purchasing my second-hand and now refurbished Junior.

I'm struggling with the dosing chamber of my plumbed in machine. First of all, I find that I cannot manually stop a shot by pushing the shot button a second time. Is there a trick to do so? This would come in very handy with flushing the group and especially with backflushing (as no water gets past the blind filter and the opv is feeding excess water back to the reservoir the shot would continue endlessly). Also how would you prevent the opv from introducing detergent contaminated water into the dosing chamber.

Secondly, I find that with the setting of shot volumes, there is a large difference between the blank shot volume and the volume using actual coffee. Does the puck absorb that much water or is the opv hose to the dosing chamber filling up? Maybe I'll find out the answer to this question myself after further experiments, but would like to hear your thoughts on the matter.

Thirdly, during a blank shot (no coffee in the piston) I find that the flow of water is sometimes briefly interrupted during the shot. Is that a result of using a vibe pump? Should I worry?

Thanks for your thoughts, especially Ken Fox (as I suspect you will bite on the junior name tag of this post :wink: )

Ken Fox

#2: Post by Ken Fox »

First, welcome to HB.

I'm not at all familiar with the older plumbed in versions of the Jr., which had a vibe pump. The ones I've seen don't have any buttons to push, rather they have knobs that turn. Are you sure that you have a vibe pump machine and not a refurbished (current model) rotary machine?