Breville BES920XL and Baratza Vario novice problems

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
rolex

#1: Post by rolex »

Hello folks, I am a complete espresso novice but am totally frustrated after spending nearly $2k on the combination above..

I thought I had done tons of reading, video watching, but nothing has addressed nor solved the problems I am having.

Basically, the Breville is constantly reporting pressures in excess of 10-11 and barely anything is coming out of the machine. I am trying to brew a single shot as it is only for myself and I don't need a huge drink all at once.

I have tried EVERYTHING.

I've tried different weights ranging from 7 to 9 grams. 7g is the recommended dose from what I can gather online, but it looks like barely anything in the portafilter, especially if it's on a fine grind. If I tamp it down there would be a gigantic gap from the top.

As far as the grinds go, the Vario has 10 macro settings and anything below 3 and I barely will get a single drop out of the machine - which makes no sense to me, because isn't it being on 3 already considered way too coarse for espresso? Other Vario users tend to report using in the 2F grind range, but as I said, the machine cannot even penetrate the espresso when I go down this low.

If I tried taking it down to the level 1 or even 2 range, it just jams up and nothing comes out except 2 drops of liquid on one side of the spout.

I really can't imagine I am excessively tamping and have even tried "ever so LIGHTLY" tamping, just to see if this will at least get me into the right pressure zone, but even that will not work.

The only thing I haven't tried yet is taking it to even COARSER territory, like level 4 or higher, but fundamentally isn't this completely wrong for espresso?

I am ready to pull my hair out here, what have I done wrong?