Bitter Shots: Rancilio Silvia (PID)

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
LukeFlynn

#1: Post by LukeFlynn »

Back in February I purchased a pre-modified Silvia from an individual. I've yet to pull the perfect shot, I have set my PID in the various regions (218, 220, 221-223, 224, 228) however, I can't seem to get a shot that taste like.. it should. I don't expect it to taste sweet, but I don't expect it to be this bitter either. I still get a 20-25 sec pull time, I'm currently using Heartmender roasted by commonplace do note I've used other coffees with the same result, usually whenever I have this specific coffee at a shop it has a wonderful nutty flavor, just doesn't happen with me. :(

Jasonmck

#2: Post by Jasonmck »

not that I'm a pro but I did own a Silvia.
I would concentrate on dose amount and grind.
I always found that I could get a good shot time but poor results when I had too much coffee at a too coarse of a grind

Just a thought

LukeFlynn (original poster)

#3: Post by LukeFlynn (original poster) »

I'll be sure to try this suggestion. Thanks!

Randy G.

#4: Post by Randy G. »

Are you using a scale capable of 0.1gram resolution to weigh each dose?
On my website www.EspressoMyEspresso.com, check out this article: 12 - EASY GUIDE TO BETTER ESPRESSO AT HOME.
EspressoMyEspresso.com - 2000-2023 - a good run, its time is done

#5: Post by LukeFlynn (original poster) »

Thanks for your input Randy! I'll be sure to try some things from your website tomorrow when I pull another double on the Silvia. Thanks!

#6: Post by LukeFlynn (original poster) »

EDIT: So, the silvia does MUCH better when you don't fill the portafilter all the way up to the top, but just below.. I am starting to get a slight nutty taste at 24 seconds, yet it's still a bit bitter, any suggestions as far as temp/timing goes? I also might invest in a bottomless portafilter and a la marzocco triple

JimG

#7: Post by JimG »

Grinder?

Jim

Jasonmck