Anyone know about LA SCALA Butterfly

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
VIC1628

#1: Post by VIC1628 »

Hi guys,

I am new here and I need some of your idea and experience about espresso machine that I am looking for.

Firstly I am looking for Rancilio Ms Silvia for my home use and practicing my latte art. But I wonder that LA SCALA Butterfly Espresso Machine is it suitable to do latte art? Which one is better? Here is the photo for LA SCALA :D

Please advise ... Thanks a lot !

Vic

Worldman

#2: Post by Worldman »

Hello Vic & WELCOME to HB forums!

I have no experience with the La Scala Butterfly and do have quite a bit with Silvia as it is my son-in-law's machine. Silvia is most certainly a nice machine but would seem to be way out-classed by the Butterfly. The La Scala is a heat exchanger (HX) machine with a 2.5l boiler with 1250W heating element, E61 (GH). While I have no experience with it, it almost certainly will allow you to produce both better espresso AND micro-foam for making latte art. This compares to Silvia's single boiler (no HX) design with a 0.36l boiler with 1100W heating element and non-E61 GH.

The only consideration for Silvia over La Scala would be price constraints. However, if you can afford it, go for La Scala.

Len

VIC1628 (original poster)

#3: Post by VIC1628 (original poster) »

Hi Len ,

Thanks for your reply. I think I really need to check out the price for La Scala and compare with Silvia.

I just worried about Silvia make problem while we need to wait the heating time and some noise while make espresso ( I survey from others forum).

Anyway I think you are right, I really need to check the price that I affordable :oops:

Thank you ,
Vic
:wink:

HB
Admin

#4: Post by HB »

VIC1628 wrote:Firstly I am looking for Rancilio Ms Silvia for my home use and practicing my latte art.
Additional food for thought: