Adding preinfusion to a rotary pump machine

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
ethorson

#1: Post by ethorson »

My Bezzera BZ35 has a lot of nice features, including a rotary pump, but does not have preinfusion. I am not an expert barista but I think the lack of this feature is adding to my problems with getting good shots. I decided that I would try and add preinfusion by reducing the rotary pump pressure during the first 10 seconds or so of the shot. The pressure produced by the pump is regulated by a relief valve that is loaded by a spring under the pressure adjustment screw. I figured that I could replace the spring and screw with a solenoid that was powered from a timer circuit. During the preinfusion interval the solenoid current would be low, which would allow more bypass flow and a lower pressure. At the end of preinfusion the timer would increase the solenoid current and consequently the force against the relief valve, which would increase the pressure.

I found a Ledex low profile solenoid that would have enough force to get the maximum pressure above 9 bar. I made an adapter to mount the solenoid that screwed into the rotary pump in place of the adjusting screw and spring. Luckily there was enough room for this modification.

For initial testing I made a simple two-transistor timer circuit to drive the solenoid. It has potentiometers to adjust the preinfusion pressure, brew pressure, and preinfusion time. This circuit probably will need to be refined to improve the pressure stability. The timer and solenoid are powered from +12 volts, which is supplied by an AC adapter that is connected to the pump drive AC power.

After a few tweaks I was able to get the preinfusion mod working. Here is a video of it in action. Note how the pressure gauge responds.

Ken Fox

#2: Post by Ken Fox »

I don't have first hand experience with this machine and perhaps you have found the best solution for the machine that you own.