Top cafes in Montreal

Discuss flavors, brew temperatures, blending, and cupping notes.
spiffdude

#1: Post by spiffdude »

Someone on this forum asked me recently what were the good places to have an espresso in Montreal. Making up the list made me realize that the coffee scene in Montreal has changed a lot in the last couple of years and typing up the response what quite fun. I figured i'd make a thread for other people passing through coming to my town and looking for a decent shot.

PS: this list is totally bias, i am by no means a coffee expert!

PSS: yeah they are all 3rd wave shops and there will be hipsters and fixed gears bikes and Macbooks (damn, i own all of those things too...)

PSSS: no i did not notice them trying to push SO drip on me. I will make a point to try and verify this next time!

Myriade. What can i say, they are consistent sons of ***, never had a bad shot there. Some of the baristi in there attend the canadian barista competitions, if that's an indication of anything). They use mainly 49th Parallel, Ritual Roasters. On occasion, they will have some other roasters such as Intelligentsia (not sure if this one will ever be back ever), Phil and Sebastian. I think i also saw some Grumpy once.

Café Saint-Henri. Passionate people, nuff said. Seriously, they source their coffee, they roast it and they provide regular tastings of their offerings, what else would you want? Oh wait, your shot will be prepared on a LaMarzocco Strada. They have their own roasts, no US big shot names here sir. Try the God Shot.

Pikolo. A new little place next to my fav wine bar. It's small, cosy and inviting. There is no attitude to be had here. They are always up for a chat on coffee and will share parameters so you can experiment at home. They have Phil and Sebastian coffee, my favorite Canadian roaster at this time; They used to be engineers, i guess that explains it!