Red Bird (fresh roast) vs Italian (not fresh) [video]

Discuss flavors, brew temperatures, blending, and cupping notes.
dlingm

#1: Post by dlingm »

I'm relatively new to espresso making (4 months), before I was used to the local shop espresso then started doing mine. After trying countless fresh beans (black cat, red bird, local roaster), countless italian (illy, lavazza, caffe borbone) and top rated coffee shops in NYC, I've come to the conclusion that the Italian ones not only taste better but also the shot comes out better and easier to dial in, maybe my pallet is not there yet but the fresh coffee beans always give me a citrus almost sour taste not to mention they are a bitch to dial in as they get stale.. I'm still in the hunt for that sweet (without sugar) espresso but the bitter is always the predominant flavor, I'm posting this to see if anyone is in the same boat and what have you learned in your espresso making journey. The following videos are some of my most decent shot pulling espressos from Redbird blue jaguar (fresh roasted) and Caffe Borbone (italian), I guess i'm a bit disappointed on what I was expecting out of fresh beans, the bright side is I won't be spending a fortune on fresh beans considering Italian one I buy is 1/2 the price.

PS- don't mind the background noise :)

RedBird Blue Jaguar 4 days roast date
Caffe Borbone 5 months roast date

Mrboots2u

#2: Post by Mrboots2u »

Try resting the rebird more than a few days for starters .

peacecup

#3: Post by peacecup »