Mail Order Coffees vs Local Roaster

Discuss flavors, brew temperatures, blending, and cupping notes.
jgottlieb

#1: Post by jgottlieb »

I have a local roaster that I have been pretty happy with. They roast daily and seem to know what they are doing. I'm not an expert by any stretch, but it always seemed that finding locally fresh roasted beans was the way to go.

I'm dealing with some challenges with my grinder where I'm getting a lot of annoying oil build-up and this has been suggested by the type or way the local roaster may be roasting the beans. I tend to stick with Mexican as I like the milder flavor but will sometimes go with their straight espresso.

Anyway, it was suggested to me that ordering online from Intelligentsia, Klatch etc may be a better bet.

I don't go through a ton of beans, I basically make a single double-basket cappuccino each day. When I get my beans locally, I buy a pound at a time. Half goes in the freezer, a quarter goes in a metal air-tight container and the remaining quarter goes in my grinder.

So all that said, is it worth moving to a mail order style bean? Is that what most folks here do? Do they just order a couple of pounds and then store in the freezer and take out as necessary?

Any input would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Joshua

happycat

#2: Post by happycat »

If they're oily right from the start, they're roasted quite a bit. This may caramelize a lot of their sugars (if I remember right) and you'll be tasting more roastiness and sugar than coffee flavour.

You can have sweet and mild coffees without over-roasting them... you can grind finer and dose lighter.

My wife thought she preferred sweet coffees but when she tried the Ethiopian Yirgacheffe I roasted in an air popper, it was her favourite (mine too). I roasted just to second crack.
LMWDP #603

entropyembrace

#3: Post by entropyembrace »