Is buying coffee (green or roasted) like buying fruit?

Discuss flavors, brew temperatures, blending, and cupping notes.
RyanJE

#1: Post by RyanJE »

I have been thinking lately about the process of buying coffee. For me, its fresh roasted since I don't home roast. What spurred all of this was the following event. I bought a bag of Ethiopian coffee from a very well known San Francisco coffee roaster. It was roasted the day before I bought it, and I started brewing it about 4 days post roast. I continued to brew it over the course of about 12 days post roast.

No matter what I did with this coffee I couldn't for the life of me get any flavor out of it. It was always flat and tasted like saw dust (for lack of better term). I noticed something I originally thought nothing of. The bag said it was harvested over a year ago (about 15 months). Then I thought, maybe that means something and did some searching. I came across this..

http://www.jimseven.com/2016/08/09/a-ch ... sh-coffee/

Then I also noticed that Intelligentsia specifies coffees that are "in season" or not.

https://www.intelligentsiacoffee.com/coffee/in-season

So the question is: how many of you use the harvest time as a factor in deciding to buy a coffee or not? The availability of this info at roasters is spotty at best and confusing when the year is left off....
I drink two shots before I drink two shots, then I drink two more....

Devin H

#2: Post by Devin H »

Here's a thread from a couple years back:

Green coffee beans shelf life