How do these beans look? Too oily or other?

Discuss flavors, brew temperatures, blending, and cupping notes.
1rider

#1: Post by 1rider »

How do these beans look? They are about 12 days post roast.
Cheers,
Patrick

aecletec

#2: Post by aecletec »

Too oily for what?

BTD1986

#3: Post by BTD1986 »

After 12 days beans this dark will show that much oil. A Vienna roast will be oily immediately after roasting, where full city might take a few days after roasting to show patches of oil. It just depends which roast level you are shooting for(assuming you roasted them). If the beans make coffee you like, then who cares how much oil they have.

1rider (original poster)

#4: Post by 1rider (original poster) »

Ok, I prefaced this all wrong. I am relatively new at trying to consistently extract good espresso. I have been chasing an intermittent channeling issue and while reading HB late last night read somewhere that beans, sometimes oily can contribute to channeling.

I guess the question I have is can anyone tell from the photo of these beans whether they are a possible source for my channeling?

It should be noted that I am rather frustrated trying to consistently remove my channeling issues :?
Cheers,
Patrick

BTD1986

#5: Post by BTD1986 »

OIly beans could cause channeling, but there are other variables that would have a bigger impact on channeling. Back when I used a rocky, I had to religiously WDT to avoid channeling (and sometimes that wasn't even enough). I would put more focus on distribution of the coffee in the basket, than avoiding oily beans, especially if you like the beans.

1rider (original poster)

#6: Post by 1rider (original poster) »

I do like the beans when everything comes together they produce a nice shot of espresso.