Can anyone recommend some instructive bad coffees?

Discuss flavors, brew temperatures, blending, and cupping notes.
badperson

#1: Post by badperson »

Hi,
I'm trying to get better about being able to accurately calibrate my taste buds to pick up on different flavor characteristics. So, if flavor is 1-5, 3 is decent, 1 is crap, 2 is bad, 4 is above average and 5 is off the charts. So I have lots of 3's , some 4's, no 1's few 2's and 5s.

Can any of you recommend some useful bad coffees, as in this flavor is a 1, this is way too acidic, this is way too bitter, etc? Would be good to have something to compare with as I mainly home roast (I think I do ok as a hobbyist, I have a behmor) and buy good coffees, I rarely drink bad coffees.

Did a search for this...sorry if it has been asked before.

RobertL

#2: Post by RobertL »

Are you looking for poorly roasted coffee, old/stale coffee or coffee that had defects before roasting?

badperson (original poster)

#3: Post by badperson (original poster) »

I think any of the above. So, for espresso, would be good to taste a coffee that was way too sour vs. way too bitter. Or, a super acidic coffee as opposed to one that had too little acidity.

And for french press, some of the cup of excellence/sweet maria's categories such as uniformity or clean cup, would be good to see an example of coffees that rated low. (no cigarette but floating in the cup? 10! :mrgreen: )

Basically trying to get a good sense of the very low and very high so I can calibrate my own ratings. (also, reducing the coffee experience to a number is problematic, I get that, but...)

Am going to try some of the local grocery store whole beans to see what that's like, starbucks and some other big chain type of places, but wanted to see if anyone had any specific recommendations.

[creative nickname]

#4: Post by [creative nickname] »