Caffeine Dilemma

Discuss flavors, brew temperatures, blending, and cupping notes.
delkat

#1: Post by delkat »

I'm fairly new to the coffee world but have always loved the taste of espresso and espresso/milk drinks. As I have been drinking more and more lately I am realizing that I am extremely sensitive to caffeine. I thought I would get used to it once my body acclimated, but so far I can barely tolerate a single shot in the morning. I have a hard time functioning at the office while caffeinated, however, I do pretty well on the weekends when I can get out for some exercise/hiking after a morning espresso.

With that comes my dilemma: I am infatuated with this hobby. I love reading HB forums and have been planning equipment purchases so I can immerse myself into this world. I'm an engineer by background and I find the equipment/techniques/skills fascinating.

So the question is, can I really enjoy this hobby while limiting my caffeine intake? I've done side by side comparison tastings of decaf vs. regular espresso at some of the local coffee houses and the decaf tastes pretty bad (sour, acidic, etc.). Is it possible to find decaf that is on par with regular coffee? Can I blend decaf and regular to reduce the caffeine?

Thanks in advance for any guidance.

Bkultra

#2: Post by Bkultra »

Sounds like you have the perfect background and passion to over come this dilemma. I'm sure you can come up with a workable, if not perfect solution. Have you considered coming up with your own blend of beans (a blend of regular and decaf)? I would think with some experimentation you could come up with the correct ratio of regular to decaf. Something that strikes a balance of flavor and caffeine.

dumpshot
Supporter ♡

#3: Post by dumpshot »

Personally I can't have much caffeine after 3 or 4pm or it affects my sleep. But I want coffee! So I am in a similar boat.