Best 2014 newbie espresso (well-known, and forgiving)

Discuss flavors, brew temperatures, blending, and cupping notes.
jodaboda

#1: Post by jodaboda »

I'm a proud newbie. I have my stovetop Bacchi and the HG-One, well-seasoned (why do my ABS hurt, of all things?!).

I've gone through a few d'ounces ("dozen ounce" bags) of local blends, and enjoy comparing with in-shop pulls. Sacramento is very much an up-and-coming coffee town, and we are proud of our roasters (not to mention, this week is "Specialty Coffee Week"-- if you're anywhere nearby, check it out).

I'd like to order something online that is popular (so feedback can be relevant), forgiving (but not TOO forgiving), and, preferably, on the chocolate-y and thick side (so probably a blend).

Suggestions?

canuckcoffeeguy

#2: Post by canuckcoffeeguy »

I would recommend Redbird Coffee. They make blends in the northern Italian tradition.

http://redbirdcoffee.com

Try the Redbird espresso and Blue jaguar espresso blends. Jeff Pentel, the man behind Redbird, knows what he's doing and his prices are very reasonable. I'm in Canada and ordered 4 bags all the way from Redbird in Montana. If I lived in the US I'd order more regularly. But shipping costs and customs issues make it more of a pain for Canadians. But you'll be fine since you're in Cali.

canuckcoffeeguy

#3: Post by canuckcoffeeguy »

Btw, regarding your equipment... What do you mean by a rigged high pressure Brikka? I have a 4 cup Brikka. I'm interested if you modified it in some way.

jodaboda (original poster)

#4: Post by jodaboda (original poster) replying to canuckcoffeeguy »