Any roasters offering small quantities of coffee?

Discuss flavors, brew temperatures, blending, and cupping notes.
User avatar
jbviau
Posts: 1394
Joined: Fri Jul 02, 2010 8:08 am

Postby jbviau » Mon Jun 24, 2013 9:30 pm

I can't possibly be the only one who enjoys small bags, right? We're talking about 8 oz. or less. Yes, it's for filter coffee rather than espresso. With less in terms of beanage, I can enjoy more than one variety at a time while both/all are at peak freshness.

Twitter has been of some help in compiling a list of roasters that offer, uh, quantity-challenged portions online.* Here's a short, non-exhaustive list (biased toward CONUS):

- 1562, http://www.1562roastery.com/#!shop/h36ih
- Acme, http://acmecoffeeroasting.com/collections/buy-beans
- Actual Coffee, http://www.actualcoffee.com/collections/coffee
- Andytown, http://www.andytownsf.com/purchase/
- Barismo, http://barismo.com/collections/barismo- ... -offerings
- Bar Nine, http://barnine.us/collections/coffee
- Beansmith, https://www.beansmith.com/coffee/type/C11
- Blazing Bean, http://www.blazingbean.com/index.php?ro ... ry&path=65
- Bodka (subscription-only), http://www.bodkacoffee.com/subscriptions.html
- Boston Stoker, http://bostonstoker.com/portfolio
- Cimarron, http://www.cimarronroasters.com/
- Coffee Mojo, http://www.coffeemojo.ie/coffee/
- Commonwealth Joe, http://commonwealthjoe.com/collections/coffee
- Compass Coffee Roasting, http://www.compasscoffeeroasting.com/shop/
- Compelling & Rich (subscription-only), http://compellingandrichcoffee.com/CR/subscription/
- Coava, http://coava.myshopify.com/collections/store
- Dobson Creek, https://dobsoncreekcoffee.co/product-li ... -cid1.html
- Flight Coffee, http://flightcoffee.co.nz/collections/coffee
- Goshen ("secret stash" single-origins), http://www.goshencoffee.com/products/
- Has Bean, http://www.hasbean.co.uk/collections/types?q=coffee
- Healing Coffee Roasters, http://healingcoffeeroasters.com/product-category/shop/
- Heartbreak Coffee, https://heartbreak-coffee-roasters.mysh ... /frontpage
- Indaba, https://squareup.com/market/indaba-coffee-bar
- jb kaffee, http://jbkaffee.de/filterkaffee/index.php
- Just Love, https://justlovecoffee.com/shop/
- Kaffa Roastery, http://kaffaroastery.fi/kahvit
- Linea Caffe, https://squareup.com/market/linea-caffe-llc
- Lofted, http://www.loftedcoffee.com/offerings
- Mountain Air, http://www.mtnairroasting.com/shop/
- Nagadi, http://www.nagadicoffee.com/
- Panther, http://sweat.enstore.com/browse/1?query=Panther
- Parlor, http://shop.parlorcoffee.com/
- Passenger, http://www.passengercoffee.com/#shop
- Populace, http://populacecoffee.com/collections/frontpage
- Post, https://squareup.com/market/post-coffee-company
- Proud Mary, http://www.proudmarycoffee.com.au/colle ... ype-filter
- Radio, http://www.radioroasters.com/buy/
- Relentless, http://relentlessroasters.com/purchase.html
- Revelator, https://squareup.com/store/revelatorcoffee
- River City Roasters, http://rivercityroaster.com/zencart/
- Royal Mile, http://royalmilecoffee.com/collections/frontpage
- Ruby (subscription-only), http://rubycoffeeroasters.com/products/ ... bscription
- Sensory Lab, http://sensorylab.com.au/pages/coffee
- Share Coffee (subscription-only), https://www.sharecoffeeroasters.com/cof ... scriptions
- Sightglass, https://sightglasscoffee.com/shop
- Slate, http://slatecoffee.com/
- Small Batch, http://www.smallbatch.com.au/shop/
- States Coffee, http://www.statescoffee.com/our-coffee/
- Stone Creek, https://www.stonecreekcoffee.com/roast/all
- Sunergos, http://www.sunergoscoffee.com/shop/
- Tanager, http://tanagercoffee.com/
- The Excellent Cup, http://www.theexcellentcup.com/coffee/
- Thou Mayest, http://thoumayest.com/shop/
- Tim Wendelboe, http://timwendelboe.no/shop/index.php?m ... 3024e417a5
- Tinker, http://www.tinkercoffee.com/shop
- Turning Point, http://www.turningpointcoffee.com/product/
- Viceroy, https://squareup.com/market/viceroycoffee
- Victrola, http://www.victrolacoffee.com/regions
- Velton's (the blends, at least), http://www.veltonscoffee.com/order-coffee
- Zeal, http://zealcoffeeroasters.com/shop-2/

Would you all mind adding to it if you're able, please?! Thanks much in advance.

Note that members without at least 90 days of membership history and 15 posts will find any of their posts recommending roasters flagged for moderation. This measure was requested by the powers that be in order to reduce spam for the forum.

* I hedge with "online" because I'll occasionally come across a roaster that lists 12-oz. (or larger) bags on its site but sells 8-oz. bags in select stores.
"It's not anecdotal evidence, it's artisanal data." -Matt Yglesias

official US importer for Olympia Express
Sponsored by Cerini Coffee & Gifts - official US importer for Olympia Express
Philg
Posts: 175
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 1:02 am

Postby Philg » Mon Jun 24, 2013 9:40 pm

Dogwood and Barefoot offer 8 oz sampler sets at gocoffeego.com. I don't know if they offer single 8 oz bags or what they have on their own websites. I haven't had Barefoot in a long time, or Dogwood at all.

Blue Bottle has a couple of 150g packages, others here have talked about them (I haven't tried)

Compass Coffee has Panama Esmeralda in a 3 oz bag.

User avatar
yakster
Posts: 3722
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2009 8:27 pm

Postby yakster » Mon Jun 24, 2013 9:42 pm

Tonx Coffee, https://tonx.org/, offers a 6 oz "Half Sack" subscription. I supplement my home-roast with this, excellent coffee.

User avatar
jbviau
Posts: 1394
Joined: Fri Jul 02, 2010 8:08 am

Postby jbviau » Mon Jun 24, 2013 9:52 pm

Thanks, Phil. Yup, several shops do samplers like this. I've tried Barismo's, for example. It's a fun way to explore new roasters. And I've checked out a few of those Blue Bottle "small lots" offerings. Thanks for the reminders. Re: Compass, that's cool.

Chris, as I think you know, I'm on that Tonx "half sack" plan currently. Agreed that it's very nice.

Extra bonus points for non-Tonx roasters that make an 8-oz. size (or smaller) available for *all* of their coffees. Or maybe there just isn't much demand?
"It's not anecdotal evidence, it's artisanal data." -Matt Yglesias

User avatar
jbviau
Posts: 1394
Joined: Fri Jul 02, 2010 8:08 am

Postby jbviau » Tue Jun 25, 2013 1:49 pm

"It's not anecdotal evidence, it's artisanal data." -Matt Yglesias

User avatar
bean2friends
Posts: 554
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 5:39 pm

Postby bean2friends » Tue Jun 25, 2013 2:23 pm

Check out www.theexcellentcup.com operated by my excellent friend and supplier Peter.

User avatar
jbviau
Posts: 1394
Joined: Fri Jul 02, 2010 8:08 am

Postby jbviau » Tue Jun 25, 2013 2:53 pm

Good one. Thanks! Peter from GCBC, right?
"It's not anecdotal evidence, it's artisanal data." -Matt Yglesias

home of the Black Cat project
Sponsored by Intelligentsia Coffee & Tea - home of the Black Cat project
User avatar
bean2friends
Posts: 554
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 5:39 pm

Postby bean2friends » Tue Jun 25, 2013 3:19 pm

He's the man!

Intrepid510
Posts: 849
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 3:13 pm

Postby Intrepid510 » Wed Jun 26, 2013 1:54 pm

Intelligentsia. Tim Wendelboe. Blue Bottle (instores)

User avatar
jbviau
Posts: 1394
Joined: Fri Jul 02, 2010 8:08 am

Postby jbviau » Wed Jun 26, 2013 2:08 pm

Thanks, Nick. I'm not going to count Blue Bottle since the smaller quantities aren't available online; sweet new site though! The other two have been added to the main post.
"It's not anecdotal evidence, it's artisanal data." -Matt Yglesias