Any roasters offering small quantities of coffee?

Discuss flavors, brew temperatures, blending, and cupping notes.
User avatar
jbviau
Posts: 1074
Joined: Fri Jul 02, 2010 8:08 am
Real Name: Joshua Viau
Equipment: Preciso / LIDOs (1, 2 [beta]), Bunn Trifecta MB, etc.
Location: Pembroke Pines, FL

Postby jbviau » Mon Jun 24, 2013 9:30 pm

I can't possibly be the only one who enjoys small bags, right? We're talking about 8 oz. or less. Yes, it's for filter coffee rather than espresso. With less in terms of beanage, I can enjoy more than one variety at a time while both/all are at peak freshness.

Twitter has been of some help in compiling a list of roasters that offer, uh, quantity-challenged portions online.* Here's a short but exhaustive list AFAIK (biased toward CONUS):

- Actual Coffee, http://www.actualcoffee.com/collections/coffee
- Barismo, http://barismo.com/collections/barismo-...-offerings
- Beansmith, https://www.beansmith.com/coffee/type/C11
- Bodka, http://www.bodkacoffee.com/store/c1/Fea...ducts.html
- Boston Stoker, http://bostonstoker.com/portfolio/coffee/
- Bow Truss, https://bowtruss.myshopify.com/
- Coffee Mojo, http://www.coffeemojo.ie/coffee/
- Commonwealth Joe, http://commonwealthjoe.com/collections/coffee
- Compass Coffee Roasting, http://www.compasscoffeeroasting.com/blog/coffees
- Compelling & Rich, http://compellingandrichcoffee.com/
- Coava, http://coava.myshopify.com/collections/store
- Flight Coffee, http://flightcoffee.co.nz/collections/coffee
- Has Bean, http://www.hasbean.co.uk/collections/types?q=coffee
- Healing Coffee Roasters, http://healingcoffeeroasters.com/product-category/shop/
- Heartbreak Coffee, https://heartbreak-coffee-roasters.mysh.../frontpage
- Indaba, https://squareup.com/market/indaba-coffee-bar
- jb kaffee, http://jbkaffee.de/filterkaffee/index.php
- Just Love, https://justlovecoffee.com/shop/
- Kaffa Roastery, http://kaffaroastery.fi/kahvit
- Linea Caffe, https://squareup.com/market/linea-caffe-llc
- Mountain Air, http://www.mtnairroasting.com/shop/
- Nagadi, http://www.nagadicoffee.com/
- Nom de Plume, http://www.nomdeplumeroasters.com/shop/
- Panther, http://sweat.enstore.com/browse/1?query=Panther
- Passenger, http://www.passengercoffee.com/#shop
- Populace, http://populacecoffee.com/collections/frontpage
- Proud Mary, http://www.proudmarycoffee.com.au/colle...ype-filter
- Relentless, http://relentlessroasters.com/purchase.html
- River City Roasters, http://rivercityroaster.com/zencart/
- Royal Mile, http://royalmilecoffee.com/collections/frontpage
- Sensory Lab, http://sensorylab.com.au/pages/coffee
- Slate, http://slatecoffee.com/
- Small Batch, http://www.smallbatch.com.au/shop/
- Stone Creek, https://www.stonecreekcoffee.com/roast/all
- Tanager, http://tanagercoffee.com/
- Tandem, http://www.tandemcoffee.com/
- Terminus, http://www.terminus-coffee.com/shop/
- The Excellent Cup, http://www.theexcellentcup.com/coffee/
- Thou Mayest, http://thoumayest.com/shop/
- Tim Wendelboe, http://timwendelboe.no/shop/index.php?m...3024e417a5
- Tinker, http://www.tinkercoffee.com/shop
- Victrola, http://www.victrolacoffee.com/regions
- Velton's (the blends, at least), http://www.veltonscoffee.com/order-coffee

Would you all mind adding to it if you're able, please?! Thanks much in advance.

* I hedge with "online" because I'll occasionally come across a roaster that lists 12-oz. (or larger) bags on its site but sells 8-oz. bags in select stores, e.g. Square One, Blue Bottle.
"It's not anecdotal evidence, it's artisanal data." -Matt Yglesias

truly great coffee roasted to highlight its inherent quality
Philg
Posts: 167
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 1:02 am
Real Name: Phil
Location: NYC

Postby Philg » Mon Jun 24, 2013 9:40 pm

Dogwood and Barefoot offer 8 oz sampler sets at gocoffeego.com. I don't know if they offer single 8 oz bags or what they have on their own websites. I haven't had Barefoot in a long time, or Dogwood at all.

Blue Bottle has a couple of 150g packages, others here have talked about them (I haven't tried)

Compass Coffee has Panama Esmeralda in a 3 oz bag.

User avatar
yakster
Posts: 2528
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2009 8:27 pm
Real Name: Chris Moritz
Equipment: Behmor / Vario / BraZen / Faema Faemina / La Peppina / Gaggia Factory / MyPressi Twist
Location: San Jose, CA

Postby yakster » Mon Jun 24, 2013 9:42 pm

Tonx Coffee, https://tonx.org/, offers a 6 oz "Half Sack" subscription. I supplement my home-roast with this, excellent coffee.

User avatar
jbviau
Posts: 1074
Joined: Fri Jul 02, 2010 8:08 am
Real Name: Joshua Viau
Equipment: Preciso / LIDOs (1, 2 [beta]), Bunn Trifecta MB, etc.
Location: Pembroke Pines, FL

Postby jbviau » Mon Jun 24, 2013 9:52 pm

Thanks, Phil. Yup, several shops do samplers like this. I've tried Barismo's, for example. It's a fun way to explore new roasters. And I've checked out a few of those Blue Bottle "small lots" offerings. Thanks for the reminders. Re: Compass, that's cool.

Chris, as I think you know, I'm on that Tonx "half sack" plan currently. Agreed that it's very nice.

Extra bonus points for non-Tonx roasters that make an 8-oz. size (or smaller) available for *all* of their coffees. Or maybe there just isn't much demand?
"It's not anecdotal evidence, it's artisanal data." -Matt Yglesias

User avatar
jbviau
Posts: 1074
Joined: Fri Jul 02, 2010 8:08 am
Real Name: Joshua Viau
Equipment: Preciso / LIDOs (1, 2 [beta]), Bunn Trifecta MB, etc.
Location: Pembroke Pines, FL

Postby jbviau » Tue Jun 25, 2013 1:49 pm

"It's not anecdotal evidence, it's artisanal data." -Matt Yglesias

User avatar
bean2friends
Posts: 467
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 5:39 pm
Real Name: DickC
Equipment: mini Vivaldi, compak k10, RK drum and Huky
Location: Michigan City, Indiana

Postby bean2friends » Tue Jun 25, 2013 2:23 pm

Check out www.theexcellentcup.com operated by my excellent friend and supplier Peter.

User avatar
jbviau
Posts: 1074
Joined: Fri Jul 02, 2010 8:08 am
Real Name: Joshua Viau
Equipment: Preciso / LIDOs (1, 2 [beta]), Bunn Trifecta MB, etc.
Location: Pembroke Pines, FL

Postby jbviau » Tue Jun 25, 2013 2:53 pm

Good one. Thanks! Peter from GCBC, right?
"It's not anecdotal evidence, it's artisanal data." -Matt Yglesias

lever espresso machine parts, manual grinders
User avatar
bean2friends
Posts: 467
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 5:39 pm
Real Name: DickC
Equipment: mini Vivaldi, compak k10, RK drum and Huky
Location: Michigan City, Indiana

Postby bean2friends » Tue Jun 25, 2013 3:19 pm

He's the man!

Intrepid510
Posts: 708
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 3:13 pm
Real Name: Nick
Location: California

Postby Intrepid510 » Wed Jun 26, 2013 1:54 pm

Intelligentsia. Tim Wendelboe. Blue Bottle (instores)

User avatar
jbviau
Posts: 1074
Joined: Fri Jul 02, 2010 8:08 am
Real Name: Joshua Viau
Equipment: Preciso / LIDOs (1, 2 [beta]), Bunn Trifecta MB, etc.
Location: Pembroke Pines, FL

Postby jbviau » Wed Jun 26, 2013 2:08 pm

Thanks, Nick. I'm not going to count Blue Bottle since the smaller quantities aren't available online; sweet new site though! The other two have been added to the main post.
"It's not anecdotal evidence, it's artisanal data." -Matt Yglesias