Where are all the great coffee shops?

Talk about your favorite cafes, local barista events, or plan your own get-together.
JimmyDigsCoffee

#1: Post by JimmyDigsCoffee »

Hey everyone,

I'm really curious about this, but it seems that a lot of coffee enthusiasts in general are lacking in a favorite coffee spot. I've talked with a lot of my friends, many of which live out of state (I'm from NJ) and there just seems to be a lack of independently owned great coffee shops out there.

My question, where are you located and does your town, or city have a coffee shop you frequent? It's just been bothering me lately and I'm looking to see what the larger coffee community has to say. And I'm definitely hoping not to hear an endless array of Starbucks responses.

Thanks guys.

Jim

Trevor_D

#2: Post by Trevor_D »

Well I'm relatively new to the coffee shop scene, and also new to the area, so take my response for what it's worth, but there seem to be at least a handful of reputable shops and cafes in the Hampton roads area of Virginia (Virginia beach, Norfolk, Newport news, etc). I've been to a couple so far, my favorite being Cafe Moka in Virginia Beach, but there is Bean There which apparently gives occasional barista classes, and another one called Cafe Stella that supposedly roasts their own beans (next on my list).

thevitruvianman

#3: Post by thevitruvianman »