What is wrong with Starbucks?

Talk about your favorite cafes, local barista events, or plan your own get-together.
AlexKilpatrick

#1: Post by AlexKilpatrick »

I don't mean that in the rhetorical sense. I have been making my own espresso at home for a couple of months now, and have been very happy with the results. I haven't been to a Starbucks since I started making my own. I was in a Barnes and Noble last night and decided a latte might be nice. However, it was vile and completely undrinkable. Kind of a weird bitter, milky combination. I noticed I didn't hear a grinder or a milk steamer and saw that they were using some kind of superautomatic.

I decided to stop off at a real Starbucks just to see if the super was the root of the problem. I (bravely/foolishly) ordered a double espresso shot. It was served in a paper cup. And it was just as vile as what I had at the other place -- just pure bitter.

So my question is what is fundamentally wrong here? I'm guessing B&N doesn't really want to hire baristas, so they just use the super-automatic machine and don't care enough to adjust it. But starbucks seems to have all the equipment. Is their problem the beans or the barista? It just seems like with a minor amount of training they could serve good espresso, and Starbucks is known for their excellent employee training. I'm sure Starbucks HQ has coffee experts on staff - how hard can it be to communicate the basics of how to pull a good shot?

pacificmanitou

#2: Post by pacificmanitou »