How can I work as a barista?

Talk about your favorite cafes, local barista events, or plan your own get-together.
OctagonCoffee

#1: Post by OctagonCoffee »

Hi everyone! First of all, the title looks pretty damn and newbie, but I have no idea where and how I can work as a barista. Right now, I am not living near any cafe so that I cannot work, but once I graduate my school, I am going to be able to work! So there are several questions that I have for Baristas.

1. Are baristas hired by other baristas? or do they usually open their own cafe?

2. Do we need any license or test to be a Barista?

3. What is the things that baristas are required to be able to do other than making coffee?

I feel like this is not the only question I have but I am really confused:P Could any one give me any ideas of the process of becoming a barista, and being a barista at cafe??? Thank you very much.

kolu

#2: Post by kolu »

badly paid job full of annoying people customers. are you really sure you want to do it? :)

Advertisement
OctagonCoffee (original poster)

#3: Post by OctagonCoffee (original poster) replying to kolu »

haha, that is good to know:D
Sounds like not the best job out there, but at least I want to try because this is something that I can enjoy.

Intrepid510

#4: Post by Intrepid510 »

Your basic barista is just a fast food worker so you don't need any barista school, just show you like coffee and are dependable. So apply and pester them until they hire you.

doubleOsoul

#5: Post by doubleOsoul replying to Intrepid510 »

Ha ha ha - good advice. Also make sure you're under 29. They don't typically go for "seasoned" baristas.

Marshall

#6: Post by Marshall »

OctagonCoffee wrote:I feel like this is not the only question I have but I am really confused:P Could any one give me any ideas of the process of becoming a barista, and being a barista at cafe??? Thank you very much.