What's the Aeropress secret?

Coffee preparation techniques besides espresso like pourover.
Almico

#1: Post by Almico »

I've been using the Aeropress for a few years now. I love it.

But now that I'm getting into roasting and getting exposed to different brewing methods, I'm confused.

The suggested brewing instructions for the Aeropress is 175* water and a 10-second brew time with a 20-second plunge. Compared to the 4 minute brew times and 200* water that typically used for drip coffee.

Doesn't that translate into a significantly under extracted cup in the Aeropress?

I can't argue; I've yet to drip a cup half as good as my Aeropress produces.

MWJB

#2: Post by MWJB »

In drip, after grinds have degassed, lost bouyancy & settled in the bed, we're really expecting (relatively) fresh, hot water to be flowing through the bed, rinsing out TDS.

With the Aeropress, typically there is some stirring/agitation (like in the the first 30s of a French press brew) & a big sudden hike in extraction, that tails off...until you plunge & then the coffee (not water) passing through the bed picks up what it can, time & grind allowing. This is one reason why brewing at espresso grind & ratios won't get you comparable concentrations in an Aeropress (typical methods), compared to an espresso machine.

Under/overextraction is easier/harder depending on your method. For steeped Aeropress brews I do find that I need to extract further to get to comparable French press/Sowden brews. You can drip brew in the Aeropress, using the plunge to replace gravity when/before the brew stalls, then brew times & temp are pretty comparable to regular drip.

Coffee a little underextracted can be acidic, but underextract it a little more (..er less? Contradiction in terms?) and it can be sweet & rich, if somewhat generic.

RioCruz

#3: Post by RioCruz »

Almico wrote:I've been using the Aeropress for a few years now...
I can't argue; I've yet to drip a cup half as good as my Aeropress produces.