Can't seem to form a solid puck in a bottomless portafilter

Coffee preparation techniques besides espresso like pourover.
davidcelis

#1: Post by davidcelis »

Hey guys; I've been brewing espresso at home (casually) for a couple years now, but I'm starting to care more about upping my game. I've been brewing with a bottomless portafilter to get a better idea of how well I'm pulling shots, but I'm having a bit of a problem. The shots seem to be coming out fine; they taste good, are coming out at a good speed, and have nice crema. As the shot's being extracted, it's coming out of the center with nice striping. But when I go to my knock box to get rid of the puck, it's almost never solid. It comes out in pieces and looks, well, shattered.

What could be happening here? If I use a regular, spouted portafilter and tamp with about the same pressure/grind, the puck stays nice and solid. If I tamp harder or make a finer grind for the naked portafilter to try getting a more solid puck, it ends up being too much and the shot doesn't come out well.

desmodici

#2: Post by desmodici »

are you using the same basket and dose in both?

davidcelis (original poster)

#3: Post by davidcelis (original poster) »

No, should've mentioned that probably. The baskets aren't the same, though they appear to be similarly sized. The bottomless portafilter's basket might be slightly larger, and the sides are less rounded at the bottom. The holes at the bottom of the bottomless portafilter also look like they might be slightly larger.

For context: the spouted portafilter is the stock portafilter that comes with QuickMill's Andreja Premium. The bottomless portafilter is a Rancilio.

I'm gonna hazard a guess: is the suggestion gonna be that I try putting the basket from my stock portafilter into the bottomless and see how it goes?

BobS

#4: Post by BobS »