Bought a new cold dripper - now what?

Coffee preparation techniques besides espresso like pourover.
Italyhound
Supporter ♡

#1: Post by Italyhound »

Summer's a comin'

So I just received this pretty Tiamo cold dripper from Orphan Espresso, although just a week later there is another model now listed on their site, but here is the unit (and instructions should you be able to read chinese).

http://web.tiamo-cafe.com.tw/ec99/eshop ... _id=HG2597

So it comes with no instructions and no filter. From searching here, it seems like the aeropress filters will be a good substitute. On other sites, the image of the dripper is next to a box of Tiamo #6 filters, but in the video the guy uses #3 filters - and two of them.

Although I don't trust google translate any further than I can throw it, the web site says 10g coffee for 100g h2o.

I am totally new to the realm of cold brewing. Can someone give me a hand with how I may work this baby? Proper brew ratio? 1 or 2 filters? Grind size in general (even more greedy - # on a ditting if you have one)? Mostly, or all ice, or mostly water with some ice? Is the idea to make a concentrate or full strength?

Thanks in advance for any help from the cold junkies :D

Evan

intown

#2: Post by intown »

How did the cold dripper work out?

Would you buy it again?

I have been thinking of a cold brew setup and curious about the best way to go.

Thanks! -- Steven

cygnusx1

#3: Post by cygnusx1 replying to intown »

I'm waiting on this to ship. Should be soon.

pacificmanitou

#4: Post by pacificmanitou »