Advice Needed: How to properly brew on the Kalita Wave 155

Coffee preparation techniques besides espresso like pourover.
lastofthefamous

#1: Post by lastofthefamous »

Hi, I'm a newbie and I need some help on the Kalita Wave 155 because I find it kinda hard to tame this pour over brewer. First of all how to properly rinse/pre-wet the filter? No matter how much I tried I keep ruining the wave form lol. Second one is brewing time; I usually go with 1:15 ratio (15g coffee, 225ml water) with medium-coarse or coarse grind but I never got it below 3 mins although a lot of people said they managed to got it under 3 mins. If anyone can share their tips/advice it will be much appreciated :) .

weebit_nutty

#2: Post by weebit_nutty replying to lastofthefamous »

I think it's probably a problem with the grind. Pouring hot water is not a complex brewing method. In fact, next to brewing tea, it's probably the easiest method I can think of for making excellent coffee.

1. Good coffee
2. Good grinder
3. Good water, within brew temp range (195-205F)
4. The right ratio ('right' varies from person to person. Not everyone likes strong coffee, but no one likes weak coffee either). Mine is 30g/350G of water.

I suggest before you invest in a better grinder, sift out some of the fines. Very easy to do:

Dump your grounds in a bowl, and shake it side to side. Use a table spoon and scoop out most of the coffee, discarding the finest particles at the bottom (aka the 'fines') You should immediately see vastly different flow rate. IF it flows too fast, discard less amount of the fines. In any case, this simple step can give you the right grind distribution without having to buy an expensive grinder, if you don't mind the extra step.. You can also use a fine strainer but it's bit messier unless you find one that's small enough to put in a little dosing cup.