With 2 toddlers, should I feel guilty about buying a La Marzocco GS/3?

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
Gfcronus

#1: Post by Gfcronus »

I'm a newbie shopping for my first espresso machine. I thought I'd be fine getting a dual-boiler in the mid-$2,000's, but found my desires slowly creeping up to the La Cimbali Junior Casa HX (high-$2,000's), then the Elektra Sixties T1 (mid-$3,000's). Now I'm wondering if I shouldn't go for broke and just get a La Marzocco GS/3. The GS/3 would actually fit in the kitchen better than the T1 or the Junior (space-wise) and would be a centerpiece of a kitchen remodel that my wife and I are planning to do in 2-3 years. But I wonder if I would feel guilty looking at my kids every morning while sipping a cappuccino after having spent seven grand on a coffee machine. Wouldn't that money be better used to help build their 529 plans? Or our retirement nest egg? Or a nice china cabinet for the formal dining room? Am I being unreasonable? Wife and I both work, pay Alternative Minimum Tax, and kids are in parochial schools.....So we have the means, per se, but I'm concerned about severe buyer's remorse. Anybody else experience a similar situation?

Boldjava

#2: Post by Boldjava »

Gfcronus wrote:... But I wonder if I would feel guilty looking at my kids every morning while sipping a cappuccino after having spent seven grand on a coffee machine. Wouldn't that money be better used to help build their 529 plans? Or our retirement nest egg? ...So we have the means, per se, but I'm concerned about severe buyer's remorse. Anybody else experience a similar situation?
Not over a GS/3 but always had the tension with the responsibility for young ones. Questions which you alone can answer:

1. How is your emergency fund? When our kids were young, I always tried to shoot for 6 months gross income in a nest egg.