Which water filter system?

Water analysis, treatment, and mineral recipes for optimum taste and equipment health.
Uncommon Grounds

#1: Post by Uncommon Grounds »

I recently bought a coffee shop in Ohio. I have no real coffee shop experience but plenty of technical ability. The filter system in place was last maintained in Sept. of '05!! It gets better. The cartridges are obsolete and I can find no one carrying an after market replacement. I am going to change the entire system and after reading the forums here I am just a bit more confused than I was. I am currently using a Rancilio S27 single but I just had the S20 Tecna rebuilt. It evidently went down 3 years ago and the guy put it on the floor to collect dust.

Anyone want to recommend a filter system for me. We are a small shop. 100 to 150 customers a day.

CafSuperCharged

#2: Post by CafSuperCharged »

One of the most respected members here, Jim Schulman, wrote something pertaining to "insanely long water FAQ" - start with that.
Then see if you have some measurements of water from the mains where you are.
pH, TDS, hardness and the kind of hardness (calcium vs magnesium) - I probably forget to mention the most important property.
Depending on the outcome decide on a filter, if necessary.
Simple water filters can be put inline between mains and machine that keep out larger particles or contain (active) carbon to filter residual chemicals out.
I am not sure about vendors in the US, but google "water filter" and e.g. "reversed osmosis" (which you don't want after reading Jim's insanely long ...) and you will hit on vendors of these filter components.

Regards
Peter

Marshall

#3: Post by Marshall »

Here's what you are shooting for: http://www.scaa.org/PDF/ST%20-%20WATER% ... V2009A.pdf. Install a system that will produce it.
Marshall
Los Angeles

Uncommon Grounds (original poster)

#4: Post by Uncommon Grounds (original poster) »