VARIAC for dummies

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
johnlyn

#1: Post by johnlyn »

I sort of hit search and got discouraged with the reading. I admit it. I will go back and hit it properly now as I would like to purchase one.

I roast and I am tired of wandering and low voltage being a variable (113-119). I would like to have some control over that. I am not an engineer, far from it, and would love it if someone could explain a VARIAC's functioning in layman's terms, make suggestions of models to purchase (pros and cons), and places to purchase them within canada.

Cheers!

Boldjava

#2: Post by Boldjava »

I can't explain it -- I would merely embarass myself -- other than to say it is a mechanism to adjust voltage.

I bought one in Milwaukee as our voltage would fluctuate very low (111-116). I had the power company come out and he said, "You are stuck. Your transformer is about 3 miles away and the equipment is ancient." He checked everything at the house without solution.

I bought an old American model off ebay for ~$120 bucks after a Chinese $100 model burned up on me within 6 months. I bought the Chinese one despite Farm's fair warning. Don't buy one.

Mine is a 22 amp Powerstat (Superior Electric). I love it. With it, I can hold the voltage right at the 119.5-119.8V mark for a good even voltage for use with the Gene Cafe.
-----
LMWDP #339

OldNuc

#3: Post by OldNuc »

The VARIAC current and/or wattage rating must exceed the current or wattage rating of whatever you intend to plug into it. In very simple terms the variac is an adjustable transformer, it is not a voltage regulator though. A variac will allow setting the voltage to your roaster at a given value and you manually adjust from there.

First thing to do is look on the nameplate of whatever you want to power from the variac and see what the ratings are for that device. By the book the variac should be rated 5 to 10% above that device rating.