Upgrade lelit pl53 or modded Gaggia?

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
scottfa

#1: Post by scottfa »

At the risk of getting the dreaded "search the forums" responses, which I have BTW, I need some help.
I will be able to upgrade my espresso setup in the next year or two. After that we both retire and I don't see any large expenditures.
So, I have the Lelit grinder, and a PID, Silvia steam wand, and OPV modded Gaggia Coffee. Which would you upgrade first?
I have looked at the Varios, and the Quick Mill Silvano etc.
I make 2-3 caps a day.
Budget is around $1500-$1800. Unless something happens of course. I neeed to budget one item at a time.
Thanks for any help.

IntrepidQ3

#2: Post by IntrepidQ3 »

I cannot comment on the machine, as I have no experience with it.

I have had the Vario for the past year. It is an excellent grinder. It is easy to use, maintain, and fits well on the counter. It grinds well, it has been said it is on par with the infamous Mazzer Superjolly (I have not used one). I grind straight into the portafilter. I rarely have any channeling or spritz issues (I solely use a bottomless pf). Best of all I do not have to use the WDT (Weiss Distribution Technique).

There are two things to be mindful of if you get the Vario.

1) The dreaded slipping settings.
I have not had a huge issue where I needed to call in, just a matter of readjusting the micro setting. There are cases that right of the box the settings can slip drastically. All you have to do is give Baratza a call and they will take care of you. Either swap our grinder or send you shims. Their customer service is top notch, they will resolve your issue no questions asked (my personal experience).

2) Slipping calibration over time.