UNIC Mira Twin 2g, any feedback/advice on this espresso machine for small cafe?

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
awscreo

#1: Post by awscreo »

Hi.

We are opening an inn/small cafe upstate New York, in a rural area near by the lake. We are complete newbies to the cafe business, lots of learning ahead for sure) our customer flow won't be crazy, it's a small town with some tourist traffic in summer/autumn seasons.

We went to Chris coffee in Albany, and they highly advised this machine to us. They are saying it's a very reliable and high quality machine that will be sufficient for our needs. What do you think? I couldn't find a single review for this particular model and that kind of alarmed me a little bit. Our budget for the machine is around 5-6k, we just need a simple, reliable machine that will allow is to learn the craft and provide good quality drinks for our customers.

Would appreciate any feedback/advice on this.

Ellejaycafe

#2: Post by Ellejaycafe »

Unic has been around for a long time. I really don't see any reason why it wouldn't work. It seems like a no frills machine. You will probably have to work in a flush routine if left idle for a while but that's about the only issue I see, which isn't much of one IMO.

I think if you paired it with a great grinder you would be very happy with it! The grinder would be my main concern if I were looking to get this machine.

Edit: I see after looking at the machine further it might not need cooling flushes after all and that's a huge plus in a commercial setting.
LMWDP #544

awscreo (original poster)

#3: Post by awscreo (original poster) replying to Ellejaycafe »