Some advice before purchasing Nuova Simonelli Oscar II

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
ytm

#1: Post by ytm »

Hi everyone,

After years of using a moka pot, I decided to upgrade and get an Espresso machine, and after some research I decided to buy Nuova Simonelli's Oscar II, along with a Compak K3 grinder, which I feel is good enough as entry level equipment, given my budget.

The thing is, being an espresso newbie, I lack basic information, so here are my questions:

1. Mods - As I understand, I can install mods such as an OPV and a Sirai pressurestat, do you think I may need those, and perhaps others?
2. Accessories - I know I need a good tamper and a scale, but what about portafilter, baskets (other than the ones that come with it), steam tip*?
3. Are there any problems/issues in terms of usage/maintenance I should be aware of in the Oscar II and the K3 grinder ?

* From what I read, the Oscar II's steam wand comes with a 4-way steam tip, which may not work well for small amounts of milk.

Feel free to fill in any detail you think I may have skipped.

Thanks!

ytm (original poster)

#2: Post by ytm (original poster) »

Can anyone help?

It's not a small purchase for me (considering I'll have to import quite a few stuff), and I'd like to be able to hammer out the details before I make it.

Nick Name

#3: Post by Nick Name »

ytm wrote:Hi everyone,

After years of using a moka pot, I decided to upgrade and get an Espresso machine, and after some research I decided to buy Nuova Simonelli's Oscar II, along with a Compak K3 grinder, which I feel is good enough as entry level equipment, given my budget.

The thing is, being an espresso newbie, I lack basic information, so here are my questions:

1. Mods - As I understand, I can install mods such as an OPV and a Sirai pressurestat, do you think I may need those, and perhaps others?