Single Group La Marzocco Linea

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
applepod124

#1: Post by applepod124 »

I found a craigslist ad for a single group linea, $1800, very tempting, though I am a newbie, this looks like a great machine for a very good price. My question is, what kind of setup/prerequisites would I need? I know that I will need an external water pump (flojet?) as i don't have the ability to plumb in. Is the single group version a 15 or 20 amp machine? I only have 15 amp outlets. I don't have much info on the machine, although I am going to email the seller and possibly visit to see the machine. What should I look for when I do see the machine in person? Anything else I should keep in mind with this?

Thanks!

fredfal

#2: Post by fredfal »

Applepod,

I own a 1-group Linea EE, but I'm sure there are many on this forum who are more knowledgeable than I. So, I'll answer to the best of my ability and welcome anyone else to chime in.

Yes, you'll need a pressurized source for water. My machine is plumbed in, but I understand that it will work off of a flojet.

You'll also need a drain for the machine as there is no drain reservoir. You could do this pretty simply using a big bucket or another large water bottle mounted below the machine in a cabinet.

There are some 110V 1-group Lineas out there, but they're few and far between and are mostly heavily modded (I don't believe LM made these, but I may be wrong). Unless the ad states that this machine is a 110V, I'd assume it's 220V. The tag on my machine says that it's 220V, 11Amp. A 15Amp circuit should do the trick, though I installed a 20Amp. The plug you need is a 20Amp plug and it seems silly to install a 20Amp plug and just send 15Amps to it. I had an electrician rewire an existing plug in my home to 20Amp on a dedicated circuit to make this all happen.