Roaster Recommendations

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
Hazard

#1: Post by Hazard »

Hi

I am new to roasting and i want to start with a good roasting machine. I roast at home using popcorn machine and overstove.i want to upgrade and I find The 1kg North Coffee Roaster (TJ-067) and i like it. they add a new double walled drum which is better but I didn't find any review about the new modification.

I want to ask if any body used it and Whither the new modification improves the machine or not?

johnny4lsu

#2: Post by johnny4lsu »

Steve said it makes roasting lighter easier from what I recall.

JK

#3: Post by JK »

You will have to ask Steve and get his opinion, I think..
Not many users would have access to a solid and double wall drum to test both.. At this early point only Steve could give an opinion I would guess..
-----------------------------
I'm on a Mission from God!

johnny4lsu

#4: Post by johnny4lsu »

drgary
Team HB

#5: Post by drgary »

I would trust that if it's an upgrade it's worthwhile. I love my older TJ-067 that may be the only gas one with a perforated drum. If I'm not mistaken some commercial roasters - Probats maybe? - have double-walled drums. Heart Coffee Roasters in Portland specializes in lighter roasts and had a Probat in the cafe for a long time.
Gary
LMWDP#308

What I WOULD do for a good cup of coffee!

Svilen

#6: Post by Svilen »

You have not mentioned if you are planning to buy electric or gas one? What do you, guys, think is a better option? Purely in terms of the coffee quality

Hazard (original poster)

#7: Post by Hazard (original poster) »

johnny4lsu wrote:Steve said it makes roasting lighter easier from what I recall.

Yes, this what I understand the benefit of double wall drum .

Hazard (original poster)

#8: Post by Hazard (original poster) »

Hazard (original poster)

#9: Post by Hazard (original poster) »