Roaster recommendation?

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
ajarmeh104

#1: Post by ajarmeh104 »

Hi all;

I am new to roasting; I have been roasting coffee in a PopLite popcorn popper for one year only, I usually roast for my espresso.
I enjoy a variety of beans (still exploring) and roast weekly (half a pound only)
I am trying to find a better solution because all the research I did suggests that the air popper roasts too fast and that is not good... I used a 50 ft power cord extension and yet the roasting process is really fast ( maybe 4 minutes to reach FC+).

I spent sometime reading around this forum and many others and got overwhelmed with the amount of information and wisdom I found... :mrgreen:

I see all these complicated and expensive roasters and I am wondering about the difference in the cup that they can bring to the table.
for example: what is the real advantage of profiling over roasting traditionally using steady heat source? is there a noticeable difference in the cup?

Any roaster suggestion based on:
1. I am looking to roast 250 or 300 grams at a time (once a week);
2. I really want something that produces good coffee -- I can learn
3. not looking to spend a ton of money.
4. I want something convenient and easy to use.

Thanks;

JK

#2: Post by JK »

Id say start with a Hottop..
I started with a Popper then Behmor> Hottop and now a North 1KG Gas roaster..
If you really like roasting get a Huky gas roaster is my opinion...
-----------------------------
I'm on a Mission from God!

rittem1

#3: Post by rittem1 »

Heat Gun/ Bread Machine?