Replacement grinder for Baratza Vario, budget < $1000

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
spaz

#1: Post by spaz »

Hi folks,

Been a while since I posted on here. Miss Silvia (w/Auber PID) is still running like a champ with regular upkeep and at the hands of the now-skilled-user. However, the Baratza Vario is another story. Between the shims required right out of the box, multiple belt adjustments, clogging, and now a new problem to diagnose and solve? I've had it.

Would very much appreciate your opinions on a replacement that fits these needs:
1. Use: Espresso primarily, occasional French Press
2. Predictable and consistent grind
3. Proven quality, I do not want to spend any more time as a coffee grinder engineer.
4. Size: Prefer it to be counter-top, under cabinet height

Price? I'd prefer to stay under $1000. Mazzer Mini Doserless is the unit I've been considering for some time, BUT, I have no input or experience to create an alternative.

Your thoughts would be greatly appreciated! BTW. the Vario is going to go on Ebay for yard sale prices... if anyone wants to make an offer, please PM me.

Best,
SPaz

maxbmello

#2: Post by maxbmello »

Too bad you have been having so much trouble with your Vario. Mine has been nothing but reliable for several years now. If you are switching back and forth however, that could be part of the problem.
1. Use: Espresso primarily, occasional French Press
This is a problem. A quality espresso grinder isn't going to do french press also, at least not with a crazy amount of adjustment. Plan on getting a dedicated espresso grinder, and a dedicated french press (hand grinder maybe?) within your budget.

The mini is a step down taste wise from the Vario, so you might end up being disappointed going down that road. It is unquestionable better built, but if there is no improvement in the cup, why bother?