Quickmill Silvano/Baratza Vario a good newbie choice with $1500 budget?

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
losaltoscoffee

#1: Post by losaltoscoffee »

Hi,

This is my first post to the forum after spending significant time lurking and reading. What a wonderful resource you have here!
I've been doing pour over coffee for the last 5 years and want to make my first foray into real espresso. Here's my current situation:

-Living in Los Altos with off the charts hard water (>300 ppm).
-Interested in making cappuccinos and flat whites only (no straight espresso)
-Primary application is just one drink for myself in the morning.
-May rarely want to make 3-4 small milk drinks for friends. This is relatively low priority as it will be rare.
-Budget around $1500.

Goals: 1)fast warmup 2)minimize frustration 3)make decent latte art

I've decided that to skip past the low end single boiler designs and have tentatively selected Quick Mill Silvano with Baratza Vario as the setup. My reasons for doing this are:

-Since the water is so hard and I won't want to install a house softener in the near future, I will use Crystal Geyser bottled water. This way I won't have to descale.
-Silvano is a single boiler with PID and thermoblock so less bottled water would be wasted on flushing compared to HX.
-PID means I will probably have more espresso consistency compared to an HX (Astra Pro for example).
-The thermoblock steamer would suffice for making cappuccinos and flat whites since I don't drink large latte's.
-I get a 2 year warranty from manufacturer with 1 extra year added by my Discover IT card.

My only concern is that the boiler is brass and the thermoblock has a copper pipe running through it. Questions:

1) Is Silvano a reasonable choice or am I going to regret not getting an HX from the start?