Prosumer dual boiler vs. commercial HX espresso machine

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
Morfious

#1: Post by Morfious »

I had previously thought I knew my machine upgrade plans, but now I am having some doubts. I had assumed that a prosumer level dual boiler (Alex Duetto II) was the path I was going to go. I currently have a PID'd Silvia with all the the usual upgrades, adjustable OPV, V3 steam wand etc. Since I am the coffee nerd at work, my boss let me recommend the espresso gear to use in the office. We purchased the Malkonig K30 vario (Same grinder I have in my house) and the Alex Duetto II. I thought this would be a dream come true and remove upgraditis forever.

I have been using my old Silvia for 6 years now and with the help of gram scales, VST baskets, bottomless portafilters etc I can make some darn good drinks in my kitchen. After using the Duetto II for about 6 months there are some things that I feel are lacking, or just not to my preference. Steaming performance is the first and most major one. My office mates often prefer cappuccino's so this is a major issue. With either of the 2 steam tips supplied by Chris Coffee I was unable to reliably create microfoam. On my Silvia I can pour decent rosettas more often than not. I switched to an Insomniac 2 hole tip with the use of an adapter on the Duetto and I am now able to get OK microfoam on a more consistent basis. The steam seems to run out a bit towards the end of the process. Steaming for the occasional latte seems to be a difficult task to really get the milk swirling.

So I took to the internet to research and find the next machine to give me better, more consistent espresso and milk based drinks for my kitchen. The Elektra T1 seems to fit the bill. But I'm wondering if there is something "better" or if this machine is overkill for my needs.

Short List of my "needs"