Newbie first post - I'm choosing a double boiler E61

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
jitters

#1: Post by jitters »

Hello HB! This is my first post after lurking for a while. You've developed a great community here.
I've found the many posts from HB users telling their thoughts about their selection process and their first experience with their new machine to be extremely helpful. I thought I will add my own story:

I've been using a single boiler Francis Francis X1 for about 15 years. Bought it while living in Torino. It's got Italian 220 plug on it which I now plug into a 220v to 110v converter box after moving back to the US in 2004. It's worked well but I don't get consistently good shots. Maybe one out of 20 is very good, the rest are ok to poor. None are "great". I use pre-ground Lavazza coffee, and almost never steam milk. It's time to upgrade. I'm in the process of choosing my dream machine and grinder - an E61 double boiler. I'm skipping the HX/E61 step that I have almost taken in the past but then backed down. I'll pull the trigger in a few months since my wife has a couple of large items in our spending queue.

I'm looking at Profitec Pro 700, Quick Mill Lucca M58, Izzo Alex Duetto and Vibiemme Domobar V4.0. I eliminated the Rocket V2 R58 right away due to the wacky detachable PID display. All these machines are much more alike than they are different, so the choice comes down to a few feature preferences. I'll be plumbing it in for water (have whole house filter and RO softener to treat our California water), but not the drain - I can't get past having to drill a hole in the new countertop. I really want a shot clock so that seems to limit me to the Profitec Pro 700 and Lucca M58 and both are the same price.

What I like about the Profitec Pro 700 over Lucca M58:
- Very neat internal layout with unified metal frame front to back. Pump motor under the brew boiler doesn't bother me.