Need help choosing an espresso machine

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
morecoffeeplease

#1: Post by morecoffeeplease »

Hi. I'm relatively new to the espresso scene and need help choosing a first machine. I've been reading the forums and watching WLL/SCG videos for the past couple months so I know the basics of the different types of machines and brands out there. Initially, I started out getting a Breville BES870XL, which got me comfortable with the basic espresso making process but I realized quickly that the grinder was holding the machine back. I eventually got a Baratza Vario to see for myself how much a better grinder would impact the results, and from the first shot, my espresso was already more flavorful and more balanced. I was set on keeping on the Vario but since I no longer need the built in grinder, I returned the BES870XL and now I'm looking for a new machine. I'm looking into either a Breville Infuser versus a Profitec Pro 300. I know the price difference, machine type, and reputations are completely different, but here are the reasons and questions I have about this:

Volume: I don't make a lot of espresso drinks on a daily basis. I make myself an espresso in the morning and a latte after work. I'll occasionally make a latte for my wife in the morning on the weekends. While a DB is nice to have for the time saved, I'm not sure if I need a DB for the number of drinks I make on a regular basis.