La Marzocco GS3 MP, Strada EP 1 group, Slayer, or Synesso MVP Hydra?

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
DaumierS

#1: Post by DaumierS »

Hi, I am not very experienced in the espresso world, and this forum was always of great help.

I am giving away my Brewtus iv-R and getting a new machine and a grinder. The budget is an issue, of course, but the first priority is to get the best pressure profiling machine with a saturated group and hopefully with some programmability. Below I list some of my options, and would appreciate any comments, and any advice, even quick and brief. I am still a newbie, did not use anything besides one E61 brewtus machine, and it is *very* difficult for me to decide. Here are my options.

1. GS3 MP. Everything looks almost perfect. Compact size, biggest discount 10% off. Huge reservoir (no plumbing), 120 V, no hassle installation. Looks like no problems at all! But it has only manual profiling, and from the videos I can see that people cannot really control the exact pressure by hand. So, no programmability, no repeatability. Fun to play with, but I am afraid I might have more bad shots, than with the others.

2. Could get Synesso MVP Hydra for $10,900. The problem is that it is 3" higher and 3* deeper than GS3 (it is 24" deep and my countertops are exactly 24"). The problem is that it needs plumbing and it is 220V. There is just one place I could put it, and plumbing there is problematic. So, too many problems. And it has only 4-stages ramping profiling, not an analog type profiling that I could have with MP. But may be it is OK?

2. Slayer. Could get it for less than $8K, fits nicely under the cabinets, and it looks good. But it needs plumbing. This might be OK, I could put it closer to my sink, so may be it is not a big not a problem. Still, no plumbing for GS3 is a big advantage.