In need of advice: Breville 920XL or Izzo Alex Duetto or other?

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
berenger

#1: Post by berenger »

Hi,
I just registered to the forum but I've been reading a lot of the boards for a while.
I've been enjoying espresso for a while, and after months of reflections i am ready for a major upgrade.
I have been using a Nespresso machine for 4 years, it was a trade-off for usability even if I was never happy with the quality of espresso I was getting from it.

Long story short, I want to buy a new dual boiler machine and a proper grinder. ( watched all the Newbie espresso videos ) read a LOT of blogs and How-tos and everything. I know I need Good coffee, (freshly roasted) i'm about to buy a Baratza forte grinder, and I want a good machine to go with it.

here's the thing:
I live in a condo. small counter space, tiny kitchen. ( baratza grinder has the smallest footprint I can think of and is a proper grinder for my needs. ( 2 adults making 3-4 espresso shots each days.)

I am looking at the Alex duetto, the Rocket r58, and also maybe the Breville dual boiler 920XL.
I don't see much people talking about the dual boiler here. I've made some research and Breville is supposed to have fix some issues on the 920 comparing to the 900 the new 920.
The other reason I'm looking at it is because i'm not sure I can plumb the machine in my small kitchen, so with either the alex duetto or the rocket i'll loose pre-infusion. ( reading everywhere that it helps preventing channeling as the coffee expands, and helps the taste a little) and they give 2 year warranty on the machine.
I thing the Italian machines are better looking, but the Breville seems to do everything they do and more, for about half the price.. I know, I know, chinese manufacturing, appliance company etc..