Help Identify Faema Grinder

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
Zambonin

#1: Post by Zambonin »

I'm new to the espresso world but HB is a great place to learn from and has been helping me along the way.

I found a grinder for sale in my city. I am trying to find out more info on this guy but it's pretty hard to get anything online. The seller only says it is a "Faema Commercial Grinder". He also said the only thing on the machine to identify it is "N36176". Anyone have any idea what this machine could be? It is for sale for $150 Canadian and the burrs were replaced last year. It looks like a Faema FP but I haven't seen any online with the cord out of the side, the doser handle on the left and this colour. I currently have an Ascaso IMini which need the burrs replaced. If it is in good working condition, any idea what a good used price would be?

I tried this post on coffeegeek but didn't get a response, hopefully I can get some info here.

LMWDP #547

dominico
Team HB

#2: Post by dominico »

The main body looks like a Faema FP, but I'm not sure I've seen one with a doser quite like that. I have no idea about the grind quality, but I have seen a well restored one sell for almost a grand. There are some people who really have a soft spot for well functioning antiques.
https://bit.ly/3N1bhPR
Il caffè è un piacere, se non è buono che piacere è?

Advertisement
Beaniac

#3: Post by Beaniac »

Looks like a FP, not sure if it's 64 or 54mm flatburrs but I do know they can sure be pretty:

Bluecold

#4: Post by Bluecold »

Definitely a Faema FP, they've been made with slight variations since at least 1950
http://www.espressomadeinitaly.com/gall ... altoni.asp

I do think it's newer than the Maltoni one I think as it has a less ornate doser lever. However, I think it's from before 1972, as Faema used the logo incorporating the Duomo di Milano on the 1972 Faema Metodo, but not on your grinder (also found in the Maltoni link).