Grinder Suggestion for $1500 Budget?

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
Gfcronus

#1: Post by Gfcronus »

I am a newbie to the world of home brewed espresso. I don't have any equipment yet, but I've been researching for a couple of weeks now. I don't want to start at the entry level because I know I will just want to upgrade pretty quickly anyway so why not just spend the money now? I'm looking to get a dual-boiler semi-automatic for an espresso machine, something like an Izzo Duetto or a Profitec 700. But before I get the machine, I want to get a grinder so I can start breaking it in. My budget for a grinder is around $1,500. I would lean towards an electronic doserless because of convenience and reduced waste, but I would not be adverse to a doser model if it checked all the right boxes. Size is not too much of a consideration because I have the space for it. Can anyone make some recommendations?

sonnyhad

#2: Post by sonnyhad »

A compak K 10 would fit the bill for a few more dollars. I don't have one but it seems to make many of this crowd happy and thats no small feat.
LMWDP 437

JohnB.
Supporter ♡

#3: Post by JohnB. »

Hard to go wrong with the K10 Pro Barista which can be had for around $1350 delivered. The electronic K10 Fresh is close to $2000 so out of your price range. If you plan to single dose you are better off with the P/B anyways.
LMWDP 267

keno

#4: Post by keno »

Gfcronus wrote:But before I get the machine, I want to get a grinder so I can start breaking it in.
Just curious, so how are you planning to break in a $1500 grinder without an espresso machine? Seems like a very unsatisfying situation to grind coffee with such a nice grinder and not be able to use it. Hope you don't have to wait too long to get a machine. :|

ds

#5: Post by ds »

Macap M7D

therabidweasel

#6: Post by therabidweasel »