Grinder for La Marzocco Linea Mini - Mahlkonig K30, Peak, Macap M7, or other?

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
charlesaf3

#1: Post by charlesaf3 »

So I'm leaning towards buying a Linea Mini currently, and using the "savings" from not buying a GS3 towards a new grinder. Seems like the Mahlkonig K30, Peak, and Macap M7 all have their adherents on here. Or should I look at Mazzer Robur?

I have plenty of space, height and width. I like drinking Full city+ Ethiopians mixed with Brazilians. Not interested in hand grinding, I have one. Current grinders are Cimbali hybrid, Mazzer mini, Rancilio Rocky.

I'd rather buy the K30, of course, if there isn't a huge difference in my usage - I do drink SO, but not light roastings, which are way too sharp for me. Don't like channeling, but who does?

jeffb

#2: Post by jeffb »

I purchased a Linea Mini and had the same question. I have a La Cimbali Jr and prior a Mazzer Mini. Decided that because of single dosing, I would purchase an HG One. The HG One does produce nice fluffy grinds and produces a good shot, however I really don't like the manual grinding and plan on offering it for sale. I purchased a Fiorenzato F4 as Chris Coffee had a promotion when purchasing the Mini and I thought it would make a good 2nd grinder for my wife's drip and other uses. Turns out, I really like the grinder and it doses easily and nicely directly into the portafilter and give as good as the HG One. I have decided, it may not be worth it to purchase a K30 for my limited personal use? (I wonder if the HG One grind compares to the grinders you mention as it would be a good benchmark for me?!)

Advertisement
NightFlight

#3: Post by NightFlight »