Grinder/espresso machine combo, max budget $2000

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
wishbone

#1: Post by wishbone »

As part of my divorce, my Silvia and Rocky combo I have had since 2006 stayed with the ex. I've been existing with french press, drip, and moka for about 9 months, but really want to get back into espresso. Thinking of a few options based on my situation, and wanted to throw them out there and see if my thinking is on the right track. Budget is unknown as I am waiting to see how incentive turned out, so I am thinking various combo's. Minimum budget should be $1,000, max $2,000, best guess is going to be around $1500.

I am currently living in an apartment, and suspect that will be true for the next 12-24 months. So space is very limited. What attracted me to the Silvia/Rocky combo in 2006 was their solid build. I am ok with disposable products, when I plan on their being disposable, but hate to spend a decent amount of money on things that won't last. I would eventually, when I am back into owned property, have a plumbed in machine, so I am thinking to go long term on the grinder, and am ok with a machine "rental".

I rarely drink milk based drinks, so steaming isn't a priority. I roast my own beans (Behmor roaster). I like SO coffees, and prefer the brighter compared to the deeper notes.

So my thoughts. Grinders first. I have a Breville Smart Grinder for other methods.

This is the one I want to be happy with for a long time. Seems to me the best compromise of quality versus cost is going manual, either a Pharo's or an HG One. Watching the videos of using both, and reading the reviews, I really want an HG One, the Pharo's looks harder to use and the whole plug/shake thing strikes me as a pain. Vario could be an option, but it seems like a machine that will give great cup results, but not last too long. Looks like the HG One will last forever.