Good espresso machine for steaming small amounts?

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
Matt_F

#1: Post by Matt_F »

Hi there,

I'm looking to upgrade from the Gaggia Classic I've been using for the past 5 years. I've just ordered a Macap M2 grinder. I was about to order a Quickmill Andreja but then read somewhere this is perhaps not the best machine for steaming small amounts of milk. Can I please have some suggestions for similarly priced machines good for easily steaming small quantities of milk? Or perhaps an Andreja with a different steam tip would be a good option?

Thanks in advance for any help!

Matt

Mrboots2u

#2: Post by Mrboots2u »

Technique is more important for steaming small amounts of milk than the machine or the steam tip.
You can steam 4 oz of milk on a strada EP if you have the skills to do it.
It will be very quick though. There is reason why a particular machine should be too quick for small amounts of milk ..
Of course you can swap out steam tips if you wish ( some steam tips are better designed then others ) , but youre better of taking advantage of the steam power of the machine you have. I can make silky microfoam with small amounts of milk on my machine with its stock tip. It takes about 15 -20 seconds I think . All in the technique

Advertisement
[creative nickname]

#3: Post by [creative nickname] »

Especially for a novice who wants to learn using smaller amounts, I think it will help to have a machine that is less powerful than the pro machines. The Breville Dual Boiler is very good in this respect; it makes good steam, but it is not especially powerful. I also find it quite easy to steam small quantities of milk with my La Pavoni.

Make sure to size the pitcher you use for the amount of milk you wish to seem. The smallest Motta pitchers are very good for macchiatos and cortados.
LMWDP #435

akiley

#4: Post by akiley »