Gaggia Baby vs. Rancilio Silvia for beginner

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
Speed-oh!

#1: Post by Speed-oh! »

I've lurked for a bit and am requesting buying advice from those of you more experienced in the ways of the bean. :)

A few months back I purchased the Breville 820 and returned it (twice, two separate machines same make) for what I suspect was plumbing problems -- water leaving the wrong place at the wrong time.

I'm now trying out a Gaggia Baby (couldn't find the classic in town) but am considering upgrading to the Rancilio sooner rather than later. I'm not happy with how the Gaggia issues hot water (counter intuitive to me, and doesn't feel especially safe) but I can cope with that and just put the kettle on for my husband's Americano.

I am still learning how to get shots I'm happy with, and moving away from the Breville dual wall filter has already helped. Already after a few days with the Gaggia my shots have a more robust taste. That said, part of me regrets not going with the Rancilio right off the bat, I am not loving the feel of the Gaggia quite yet.

Should I stick with the Gaggia? I guess I'm wondering if someone who is new to doing her own shots will notice the difference between two mid-range machines. I can squeak the Rancilio into the budget, but do better tools matter to an amateur? Given that I had to look up what PID stands for, should I back away from the machine?

You will ask, I'm sure, about my grinder. I'm embarrassed to say that at this point I'm still buying pre-ground for pump from a very nice roaster in town. I have read several helpful threads on this site about grinders to consider, and will likely move in that direction sometime in the next six months or so.

If I have missed threads that answer my questions, please forgive me, I don't mean to be tedious! :D