First cheap grinder

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
rubbert094

#1: Post by rubbert094 »

Hi everyone,

Im new to this site but right now I am looking to upgrade from my cheap black decker blade grinder.

I looked around the site and amazon and am interested in the hario skerton grinder but I've also seen some negative reviews about it.

Anyone have any suggestions?

Right now I mostly use the siphon and hario v60, but am thinking about getting an aeropress or a moka pot.

Also, I am a college student who's kinda low on funds so something like the barazta vario is out of my range.

Thank!

Burner0000

#2: Post by Burner0000 »

If your using the Skerton for drip, press and siphon it's not a bad grinder. If you include the OE PFP mod it improves course grind quality immensely. If your busy you should look at the Encore. Has more than enough room for drip, press and siphon brew. I own the Skerton with the mod and have used the Encore in the past. Both produce nice grounds for good coffee.
Roast it, Grind it, Brew it!.. Enjoy it!..

Advertisement
Intrepid510

#3: Post by Intrepid510 »

Buy the burr stablizer from Orphan Espresso, and you will have a good grinder for a cheap price. Just make sure you don't have to grind too much because anything more than 20 g will become a big pain the butt. If you want mortorized go with a Steel Infinity or Encore.

gashuebr

#4: Post by gashuebr »

Also take note that there is a Skerton clone (I'm not identifying the Kyocera branded grinder) out there selling on Amazon for about half the price, but it is seriously deficient in several regards.

happycat

#5: Post by happycat »

I have an Encore and though I messed around with it a lot, it really wasn't that great for any coffee I made. Coffee was always overextracted.

I bought a gently used Bunn G1. Granted it's big and heavy but the result is way better for syphon, aeropress, chemex, etc.